Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Tamil Nadu thrash Rajasthan by seven wickets, enter second successive remaining


Tamil Nadu had misplaced the summit conflict by only one run to Karnataka, final yr.

Ok B Arun Karthik led Tamil Nadu into their second successive Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy remaining with an unbeaten 89-run knock that formed their seven-wicket victory over Rajasthan within the first semi-final, right here on Friday.

Arun Karthik’s 89-run partnership with skipper Dinesh Karthik (26 not out) meant that Tamil Nadu overhauled the 155-run goal with eight balls to spare. TN had misplaced the summit conflict by only one run to Karnataka, final yr.

Rajasthan’s determination to bat first on the Sardar Patel stadium backfired as Tamil Nadu restricted them to a sub-par 154 for 9 regardless of skipper Ashok Menaria’s 51 off 32 balls.

Rajasthan misplaced opener Bharat Sharma (zero) within the first over, as Baba Aparajith took a diving catch off left-arm spinner R Sai Kishore (2/16).

Aditya Garhwal (29) took on medium pacer Aswin Crist, putting successive boundaries within the third over however he was unable to transform his begin and perished within the fifth over.

Menaria launched into Crist, hammering three boundaries and a six, within the sixth over.

The left-handed Menaria, whose knock was laced with 5 fours and two sixes, took on the Tamil Nadu bowlers as he and Arjit Gupta (45 off 35 balls) raised a 83-run third wicket stand.

Tamil Nadu, initially, have been sloppy within the area and dropped three catches, together with one in all Menaria.

Tamil Nadu pegged again Rajasthan by taking two fast wickets. First Sai Kishore dismissed well-set Menaria and in-form Mahipal Lomror (three) additionally fell cheaply as Rajasthan slumped to 129 for 4.

Rajasthan then suffered a collapse because the southern facet stormed again into the competition by choosing common wickets and pacer M Mohammed (four/24) doing bulk of the injury. Within the remaining 5 overs, Rajasthan misplaced 5 wickets and added solely 24 runs as Tamil Nadu bowlers stamped their authority.

Chasing 155, TN misplaced C Hari Nishanth (four) early when he was trapped in entrance of the wicket by Tanveer-Ul-Haq (1/22). Tamil Nadu have been in spot of hassle at 17/2 after Aparajith (2) was caught within the slip cordon.

However a decided Narayan Jagadeesan (28) and Arun Karthik got here to the rescue as they put collectively 52 runs for the third wicket and took the sport away from Rajasthan.

Younger leggie Ravi Bishnoi (1/32) tried to convey Rajasthan again into the sport by eradicating Jagadeesan, who holed out within the deep, as TN misplaced its third wicket on 69.

However then Tamil Nadu cruised as skipper Dinesh Karthik joined Arun and the duo tore aside the Rajasthan assault. Arun Karthik hammered 9 boundaries and three sixes, in his match-winning knock and fittingly completed the sport with a boundary.

Transient Scores: Rajasthan 154/9 (Ashok Menaria 51, Arjit Gupta 45, M Mohammed four/24, R Sai Kishore 2/16) misplaced to Tamil Nadu 158/three (Arun Karthik 85 not out, Narayan Jagadeesan 28; Tanveer-Ul-Haq 1/22, Aniket Chaudhary 1/29) by 7 wickets. 

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *