Narendra Modi named Somnath Temple belief chairman; 2nd PM to carry publish

Picture Supply : PTI (FILE)

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah provide prayers on the Somnath Temple.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi was on Monday unanimously chosen as the brand new chairman of the belief which manages the world well-known Somnath Temple at Prabhas Patan city in Gujarat’s Gir-Somnath district, turning into the second PM to carry the publish.

Modi, one of many trustees of the Shree Somnath Belief, was named to the highest publish unanimously throughout a gathering which he attended by by way of video conferencing.

“The trustees unanimously selected Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi as the following chairman of the Belief, to information it within the instances to come back. The Prime Minister accepted the duty and in addition appreciated the efforts of Workforce Somnath,” mentioned a PIB launch in Delhi.

“He expressed hope that collectively, the belief will have the ability to additional enhance infrastructure, lodging preparations, recreation services and assist set up stronger connection of the pilgrims with our nice heritage. A assessment of the services, ongoing actions and tasks was additionally carried out throughout the assembly,” it mentioned.

On the digital assembly, the trustees paid tributes to former Gujarat Chief Minister late Keshubhai Patel, the ex-chairman of the Belief.

After former PM Morarji Desai, Modi is the second Prime Minister who has been appointed the chairman of the temple belief. As per belief data, Modi has develop into the eighth chairman of the belief.

The publish of the Somnath Belief’s chairman fell vacant after the dying of Patel in October final 12 months. Patel had served because the chairman for 16 years (2004-2020). Present trustees embrace BJP chief LK Advani, Union Residence Minister Amit Shah, Gujarat-based scholar JD Parmar and businessman Harshvardhan Neotia. Trustee-Secretary P Okay Laheri mentioned Shah proposed the title of Modi as the following chairman.

“Whereas Shah proposed the title of PM Modi as chairman, I seconded it and the opposite trustees then unanimously elected the PM as the brand new chairman. The trustees would maintain one other assembly to debate future plans,” Laheri advised reporters after the assembly on Monday night.

As per the data, Desai had served because the chairman between 1967 and 1995. In addition to Desai and Patel, a number of the illustrious previous chairpersons of the belief embrace Jamsaheb Digvijaya Singh Ji, Kanaiyalal Munshi, Jay Krishna Hari Vallabh, Dineshbhai Shah and Prasanvadan Mehta, the discharge mentioned.

Newest India Information

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *