IPL 2021: 5-time champions Mumbai Indians eye encore however some spin worries in method

Picture Supply : IPLT20.COM

File photograph of Mumbai Indians.

A batting line-up dotted with power-hitters coupled with a strong pack of demise bowlers make five-time champions Mumbai Indians a formidable unit within the upcoming IPL.

However the absence of high quality spinners may harm them in pursuit of a hat-trick of title wins.

Here’s a have a look at what works and what would not for the outfit led by Rohit Sharma, which opens its marketing campaign by taking over Royal Challengers Bangalore in Chennai on April 9.


After lifting the trophy in 2019, Mumbai as soon as once more received in 2020 when the profitable league was shifted to UAE as a result of COVID-19 pandemic.
The win was constructed on the crew’s power — their core has remained the identical through the years and this is likely one of the largest causes for the facet’s dominant run.

MI’s batting is their largest power and so they possess a strong opening duo within the type of skipper Rohit Sharma and South African Quinton De Kock, and if wanted, have an choice in Australian hard-hitting batsman Chris Lynn.

The ever-improving Suryakumar Yadav, younger Ishan Kishan, each of whom starred on their India debuts, the Pandya brothers — all-rounders Hardik and Krunal — and West Indian Kieron Pollard, make for a really sturdy middle-order.

On the quick bowling entrance, the crew possesses one of many most interesting in Jasprit Bumrah, and the India pacer could be raring to go as soon as once more after a break from the sport.

Final season’s new addition, New Zealand’s Trent Boult proved his value by taking wickets within the powerplay, together with within the huge last. Add Australia’s Nathan Coulter-Nile to the combo and it turns into an excellent tempo assault.

Their issues may lie within the spin division, which is a bit gentle, particularly on Chennai’s Chepauk observe. Lack of a wicket-taking spinner may harm the Mumbai Indians’ prospects.

With Lasith Malinga bidding adieu to franchise cricket, MI have been left to replenish an enormous void.

Left-arm spinner Krunal, who was taken to the cleaners by the visiting England facet within the ODI sequence, is extra of a restrictive choice and there may be Rahul Chahar, one of many finds of the IPL.

Off-spinner Jayant Yadav performed solely two matches within the final season and it stays to be seen what number of video games he’ll get this time round.
Mumbai have roped in skilled leg-spinner Piyush Chawla, but when the crew persists with Krunal and Chahar, he may find yourself warming the benches.
Chawla, for the file, has 156 wickets within the IPL, the third highest for any bowler within the league’s historical past.

Mumbai have a robust A facet however haven’t got sufficient replacements for every slot and have comparatively younger gamers as their bench power.

Given that every one of Mumbai middle-order batters are big-hitters, this might give the facet a bonus over others, particularly whereas chasing huge totals at locations like Chennai and Bengaluru.

All this would possibly be certain that Pollard must contribute with the ball too, and play the function of the fifth or the sixth bowler, relying on the enjoying XI that’s fielded.

Pollard, who has been with Mumbai Indians for a substantial period of time, is their second highest run-scorer (three,023 runs) after Rohit Sharma (5,230 runs) and has grabbed 60 wickets.

Pollard has additionally smashed 198 sixes and is the second highest for his franchise after Rohit, who has hit 213 sixes.
The opponents may fancy their possibilities however MI positively have the crew to go for a sixth title and third on the row.

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Adam Milne, Aditya Tare, Anmolpreet Singh, Anukul Roy, Arjun Tendulkar, Chris Lynn, Dhawal Kulkarni, Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), James Neesham, Jasprit Bumrah, Jayant Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Marco Jansen, Mohsin Khan, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Piyush Chawla, Quinton De Kock (wicket-keeper), Rahul Chahar, Saurabh Tiwary, Suryakumar Yadav, Trent Boult, Yudhvir Singh. Mahela Jayawardene (Head Coach).

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *