England-South Africa sequence on as CSA members’ council accepts interim board

Picture Supply : ECB/TWITTER

File photograph of South Africa skipper Quinton de Kock (left) with England counterpart Eoin Morgan.

Confronted with a menace of sanction by sports activities minister Nathi Mthethwa, Cricket South Africas members council agreed to recognise the nine-member interim board, days after it had refused to just accept the government-appointed physique.

The choice ensures that the forthcoming sequence between England and South Africa, which begins on November 27, will probably be held as scheduled.

Mthethwa had threatened to strip the standing of Cricket South Africa because the governing physique of cricket within the nation and have its funds withdrawn.

A report in ESPNCricinfo.com said, “So long as the interim board is formally recognised (which ought to occur within the coming days in accordance with the Firms’ Act) and Mthethwa shouldn’t be wanted to intervene once more, the sequence towards Sri Lanka, Australia and Pakistan can even be capable to go forward as deliberate.”

The report added that the CSA members’ council might nonetheless lodge a criticism to the ICC, citing authorities interference which might invite sanctions from the world physique.

The brand new nine-member interim board, which has triggered the controversy, will probably be chaired by Decide Zak Yaqoob and consists of former CSA chief Haroon Lorgat.

It additionally consists of seasoned administrator Andre Odendaal, Omphile Ramela, Stavros Nikalo, Judith February, Andile Daybreak Mbatha, Xolani Vonya and Nkeko Caroline Mampuru.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *