Bengal polls 2021: Marketing campaign ends for section three, stage set for April 6 voting

Picture Supply : PTI

Bengal polls 2021: Marketing campaign ends for section three; BJP’s Swapan Dasgupta, CPI(M)’s Kanti Ganguly in fray

Senior BJP chief Swapan Dasgupta, TMC minister Ashima Patra and former CPI(M) minister Kanti Ganguly are among the many 205 candidates whose campaigns for the third section of elections in 31 seats in West Bengal ended on Sunday night.

On this section, elections can be held in elements of rural Howrah, the Sunderban area, the Diamond Harbour and Baruipur belts within the South 24 Parganas, and elements of the Hooghly district. The marketing campaign ended at 5 pm with elections scheduled to be held on Tuesday.

The BJP’s marketing campaign was led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi who addressed a number of public conferences in these three districts. Moreover, House Minister Amit Shah, BJP president JP Nadda, UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Union minister Smriti Irani held a slew of rallies and roadshows within the final 

few days in these areas.

The Trinamool Congress’s cost was led by Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, at the same time as TMC MP and her nephew Abhishek Banerjee addressed a major variety of rallies.

ALSO READ | No plans to conduct NRC train in Bengal, CAA to be carried out: Vijayvargiya

In his successive rallies, the prime minister attacked the TMC authorities over “appeasement politics”, whereas raking up the problem of ground-level corruption, together with the alleged irregularities in Amphan aid.

On the opposite aspect, the chief minister took on the leaders who left her get together to hitch the BJP forward of the elections, urging folks to vote towards the “traitors”. She additionally attacked the BJP-led authorities on the Centre over rising gas costs and the state of the financial system.

The Left-led alliance focussed extra on street-corner meets, small gatherings and door-to-door visits in absence of a face to counter Modi and Banerjee at giant rallies. Nonetheless, ISF founder Abbas Siddiqui’s public conferences noticed mega gatherings in locations corresponding to Canning which have important Muslim inhabitants.

A complete of 78,52,425 voters will determine the destiny of 205 candidates within the 31 seats. Of them, 39,93,280 are males, 38,58,902 females and 243 third gender voters.

The 16 seats in South 24 Parganas, going to the polls on this section, are probably the most affected by cyclone Amphan that hit the state amid the lockdown final Could. Considerably, these are TMC strongholds, having large grassroots organisation, with many being a part of Abhishek Banerjee’s Diamond Harbour  Lok Sabha seat.

ALSO READ | Bengal Polls 2021: Mamata Banerjee guarantees to make sure security, schooling for all

Nonetheless, the allegations of corruption in Amphan aid and the rise of ISF in sure pockets are among the many components which can be being carefully watched for his or her potential to have an effect on the TMC’s fortunes.

One of many notable contests on this district is in Raidighi, the place CPI(M) heavyweight Kanti Ganguly is up towards BJP’s Santanu Bapuli and Trinamool Congress’s Aloke Jaldata. Ganguly misplaced the final two elections from the seat by slender margins to TMC’s movie star candidate Debashree Roy, however this time is banking on the work he did after the Amphan devastation at the same time as he was not an MLA.

In all, 10,871 polling stations have been arrange within the 31 meeting constituencies the place elections can be held from 7 am to six.30 pm. Hooghly district, as soon as a TMC stronghold, witnessed the BJP making important inroads with the 2019 Lok Sabha elections as get together candidate Locket Chatterjee gained the Hooghly seat. Elections can be held in eight seats of the district on this section.

Among the many important contests on this district within the third section is the Tarakeswar seat the place the BJP has fielded former get together MP Swapan Dasgupta. He’s up towards Ramendu Sinharay of TMC and Surajit Ghosh of CPI(M). The TMC was forward of the BJP by greater than four,000 votes within the Lok Sabha elections on this meeting seat.

Within the Dhanekhali seat, TMC has renominated state minister Asima Patra. She is up towards Tusar Majumdar of BJP and Anirban Saha of Congress.

The seven seats going to the polls in Howrah, one other TMC stronghold in its south Bengal bastion, are principally within the rural areas of the district. The TMC gained 15 of the 16 seats on this district within the 2016 meeting elections. Nonetheless, the switching over of state minister Rajib Banerjee, a senior TMC chief of the district, to the BJP forward of the elections is being carefully watched for its potential to sway the polls.

Amta was the one seat that the TMC didn’t win on this district final time, dropping to veteran Congressman Asit Mitra. He’s contesting this time as nicely, towards Debtanu Bhattacharya of BJP and Sukanta Kumar Paul of TMC.

At the least 618 corporations of central forces can be deployed on this section, Election Fee sources mentioned, including that every one the cubicles have been recognized as “delicate”.

The EC allotted the best 396 corporations of central forces for the 5,544 cubicles within the three police districts within the South 24 Parganas — Baruipur, Diamond Harbour and Sundarban. There can be 166 corporations of central forces in Hooghly and 133 within the rural areas of Howrah.

“We is not going to take any likelihood. At no cost and honest polling, officers have been instructed to be strict,” a senior official on the Chief Electoral Officer’s workplace mentioned.

Elections to the 294-member West Bengal meeting are being held in eight phases. The primary two phases have been on March 27 and April 1. Votes can be counted on Could 2.

ALSO READ | Bengal polls: EC directs switch of three law enforcement officials with rapid impact

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *